• My Mind Garden

  • Recent Comments

    Thuy Cadden on A Spiritual Misstep!
    Bee Kim on Preparing for CNY
    Selene Tinklers on Preparing for CNY
    sarah on Neighbourly Love
    tebing tinggi on Bigfoot Muncul Lagi Di Jo…
  • TOP 5 CLICKS

    • None
  • Categories

  • Archives

Education Is His Forte

Education is the best gift that you can give to a child.

I’ll be posting a series of articles on the Seri Omega Private and International School, which is currently located at Jalan Persisiran Sutera Danga in Taman Sutera Utama, Skudai.

It will be re-located to a four-hectare site at Jalan Beringin 5 in Taman Beringin, Senai to cater to the growing student population.

In this 2012 article, Dato’ Ooi shares his views on teaching and parenting.

19 June 2012

Dato’ Ooi Chong Beng, 60, is the founder and principal of Seri Omega Private and International School

Dato' Ooi Chong Beng


 

TO me, what are most important in a school are a positive culture and quality teachers.

A building with state-of-the-art facilities to boost learning may create a strong first impression, but it is not what one should look out for when choosing a school for one’s child.

Good schools have positive core values. If one is required to choose between impressive buildings and quality teachers, it should always be the latter.

I can teach very well, not only because I have been in the field for decades, but also because I have great passion for education.

After graduating with a major in biochemistry from Universiti Malaya in 1975, I was posted to a secondary school in Kuala Terengganu, where I taught for three years.

I then became a lecturer at Maktab Perguruan Pasir Panjang there.

I lectured there for seven years before moving on to spend nine years at Maktab Perguruan Temenggong Ibrahim, Johor Baru, after getting my master’s degree.

And that was how this Kedah-boy ended up making Johor Baru his home.

My wife was also a secondary school teacher at a public school. She taught for 10 years before becoming a full-time housewife as we felt that would be the best for our two boys and a girl, now aged 17 to 28.

I opened the Omega Tuition Centre in Century Gardens, Johor Baru, in 1988.

I derive great joy from teaching. Because of my passion for and experience in education, I was able to run an effective administration and management system that was backed by an efficient and committed workforce.

I pay my staff well because I believe that it is only when one is well-paid that one will give one’s best to the job.

There must also be job satisfaction, for without that, the best teacher in the world will not stay long at the job.

At the tuition centre and Seri Omega Private School, which I opened in 2002, the staff turnover rate is very low.

Seri Omega Private School initially offered only secondary education but due to popular demand, primary education was introduced in 2005.

There are rumours going around that my private school only accepts spoilt children from rich families. That is not true at all.

Before I take in a student, both the parents and the child have to undergo a two-to three-hour interview, where we share our views on education.

If you want to send your child to my school, you have to be prepared for my nagging.

I was raised in a poor family. If a student from a low-income family has good conduct and excellent grades, I would want to help him or her.

Every year, my school offers scholarships to 30 students, who will receive partial to full waiver of the school fees depending on the student’s academic achievements.

I would not accept a student who has talent but lacks discipline. One cannot be successful in life without discipline. I also do not accept students whose parents are confrontational.

Some parents think it is inhumane to control a child. Contrary to popular belief, children actually love routine. I believe a child needs routine to feel happy and secure. Children without a routine usually perform poorly in school, and they also have low self-esteem.

I also strongly believe that if you do not love the child, then you do not have the right to punish the child. Sometimes, corporal punishment is necessary.

I also disagree with some parents and teachers who stress too much on the importance of extra-curricular activities. Getting involved in too many such activities will confuse a child and cause him to lose focus on his studies.

Seri Omega

Violin lessons are among the extra-curricular activities at Seri Omega Private and International School

Experience tells me that children’s problems are not children’s problems per se. They are the parents’ problems or family problems, which usually stem from urbanisation.

I am not against urbanisation, but when a society develops at a fast pace, there is a price to pay.

Read more: A teacher’s passion for the job – Johor – New Straits Times http://www.nst.com.my/streets/johor/a-teacher-s-passion-for-the-job-1.95768#ixzz2TehHdCKz

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Kamdee

     /  June 21, 2013

    This is the only country that allows Chinese to set up their Chinese schools and also allow Chinese to do business at almost all sectors of the economy. From rubber gloves, to rubber wood furniture to bottling Govt water , to Restaurants and even they want to compete in halal food. This Omega school is very expensive and only Chinese can send their children here. Well there may be a few Indians and Malays
    This illustrate the UMNO/BN Government have been fair to the Chinese
    Its only people like the Dong Zongs and the Dong whatever, the China Press and the Nanyang and last but not least the ugly old hag Lim Kit Siang who spews hatred and insecurity and also jealousies in Malaysia. The Chinese tsunami on GE 13 where more than 90% of the Chinese turned out and voted the opposition is something that cannot be denied.

    The Chinese people in Malaysia can keep their “Chineseness’ and also their thick Chinese consciousness, aka kiasu, without any worry becos the Malays all along believe in peaceful co existence
    Well they said they pay income tax but try living in Canada, in Australia and every where in the world and they can see how the Chinese immigrant are really treated as 2nd Class citizens, even they pay a lot of taxes

    The OMEGA Pte School project,is becos many Chinese Johor Citizens are tired of sending their Children to Spore because of high cost and the daily travel also because they also don’t trust the Foon Yew schools. So actually we really don’t know what exactly they want. They refuse to send to the Sekolah kebangsaan because of fear maybe of their children becoming too “malay”..must wear baju kurung and eat non pork dishes.

    As for the school land and all the approvals for a school of this nature I am sure that they were all duly given speedily by the generally good Malay administrators and the Malay government
    So this is a n example how very very fortunate these kiasu people are on this earth esp in Tanah Melayu

Leave a comment